Africa Afcon 2013: Ethiopia name final squad

Ethiopia Coach Sewnet Bishaw has announced his 23 man final squad for the upcoming Africa Cup of Nations due to be held in South Africa.

According to Bishaw, only three players were dropped from the provisional 26 man squad and these are players goalkeeper Dereje Alemu (Sebeta city, Ethiopia), Defender Aklilu Ayenew (Dedebit, Ethiopia) and Forward Abdul Wali Aman (Washington University, USA).

The team is composed of mainly local based players who account for 20 places with only three foreign based named for the final tournament.

Ethiopian league champions St. George FC and runners up Dedebit FC contributed the largest share of the players with 9 players from St. George and 8 from Dedebit included. Eth. Coffee and EEPCO are third and fourth with 1 and 2 players respectively.

Ethiopia is in group C alongside defending champions Zambia, 1994 champions Nigeria and 1998 hosts Burkina Faso.

The AFCON tournament is scheduled between January 19th and February February 10th 2013.

Full squad

Goalkeepers: Jemal Tassew (Coffee, Ethiopia), Sisay Bancha (Dedebit, Ethiopia), Zerihun Tadele (St. George, Ethiopia)

Defenders: Degu Debebe (St. George, Ethiopia), Biadgelegn Elias (St. George, Ethiopia), Alula Girma (St. George, Ethiopia), Abebaw Butako (St. George, Ethiopia), Aynalem Hailu (Dedebit, Ethiopia), Seyoum Tesfaye (Dedebit, Ethiopia), Berhanu Bogale (Dedebit, Ethiopia)

Midfielders: Asrat Megersa (EEPCO, Ethiopia), Addis Hintsa (Dedebit, Ethiopia), Minyahil Teshome (Dedebit, Ethiopia), Behailu Assefa (Dedebit, Ethiopia), Yusuf Saleh (Syrianska, Sweden), Shimeles Bekele (St. George, Ethiopia), Yared Zinabu (St. George, Ethiopia), Dawit Estifanos (Coffee, Ethiopia)

Attackers: Saladin Said (Wadi Degla, Egypt), Getaneh Kebede (Dedebit, Ethiopia), Oumed Ukuri (St. George, Ethiopia), Adane Girma (St. George, Ethiopia), Fuad Ibrahim (Minnesota Stars, USA).

Read also

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *