Africa An overview of the 2013 AFCON

In history of the AFCON, Nigeria has won the title for the third time after beating Burkina Faso 1 – 0 in Johannesburg at South Africa and it has been the second time South Africa has hosted the competition.

There have lots of goals, people, venue etc so we take a look at what happened at the Africa Cup of Nations 2013 I n South Africa.

Number of participating teams – 16

South Africa, Ghana, Nigeria, Niger, Burkina Faso, Niger, Algeria, Tunisia, Cape Verde, DR Congo, Ethiopia, Togo, Ivory Coast, Zambia, Angola, Morocco

Attendance – 729, 000 (22, 781 per match)

Best player – Jonathan Pitroipa

Top Goal scorers – Emmanuel Emmenike, Mubarak Wakaso (4 goals),

Host Nation – South Africa

Venues – 5 (in 5 host cities)

Date of tournament – 19th January – 10th February, 2013

Number of matches played – 32

Number of goals the top scorer of the tournament netted – 4

Number of players who netted four goals – 2 (Emmanuel Emenike – Nigeria and Mubarak Wakaso – Ghana)

Number of goals scored in the entire tournament – 69 (2.16 per match)

Number of venues that hosted the tournament – 5 (Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium, Mbombela Stadium, Moses Mabhida Stadium, Royal Bafokeng Stadium and FNB Stadium)

Highest scoring team – Nigeria (11 goals)

Team that scored the fewest number of goals – Niger (0)

Team with meanest defence – Zambia (2 goals)

Team that conceded the most number of goals – Mali (8 goals)

Number of goal scorers in the tournament – 36

Number of own goals in the tournament – 1 (Nando Cape Verde Vs Angola)

Number of drawn games – 12 (Note: Games decided on penalties after extra time are described as draws while those won in extra time are classified as wins).

Earliest goal of the tournament – 3rd minute Dieumerci Mbokani DRC Vs Mali

Latest goal of the tournament – 105th minute Jonathan Pitroipa Burkina Faso Vs Togo (Extra time)

The best attended match – Burkina Faso Vs Nigeria in the finals (85,000)

The worst attended match – Cote d’voire Vs Togo (2,000)

Team that was awarded most penalties – Ghana (4)

Champions – Nigeria (3rd Title)

Runners-up – Burkina Faso

Third place – Mali

Fourth place – Ghana


Read also:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *