Gossip Four Nations / Springboks: Meyer called six players in the Top 14!

springboks_1424506c-300x187The Springbok coach, Heyneke Meyer, has released his list of players selected for the Four Nations. It is a group of thirty players that the South African coach called for the two games of the championship. About ten internationals operating outside of South Africa are on the list. An unusual fact in the Boks.

Most of the expatriates come from the Top 14. These are Toulouse’s Gurthro Steenkamp, Chiliboy Ralepelle and Jano Vermaak , Juandré Kruger (Racing Metro), Morne Steyn (Stade French) and Bryan Habana (RC Toulon).

Two players from the Irish Championship are also in the Group: scrum half (flyhalf) Ruan Pienaar of Ulster, Leinster’s back, Zane Kirchner.

The English league is represented by the third line of Bath, Francois Louw.

There is also a return to selection of Fourie du Preez of Suntory Sungoliath (double champion in Japan).

the Scrumhalf of 31 years had not been summoned to the Boks since the quarter-finals of the 2011 World Cup (lost against Australia, 9-11).

South Africa began the competition against the Pumas of Argentina, in Soweto on August 17. The All Blacks are the defending champions of this Four Nations.

The list of invited players

Pillars: Jannie du Plessis, Tendai Mtawarira, Trevor Nyakane, Coenie Oosthuizen, Gurthro Steenkamp
Hookers: Bismarck du Plessis, Chiliboy Ralepelle, Adriaan Strauss
Second line: Eben Etzebeth, Juandré Kruger, Flip van der Merwe, Franco van der Merwe
Third line: Willem Alberts, Marcell Coetzee, Siya Kolisi, Francois Louw, Duane Vermeulen
Prop: Fourie du Preez, Ruan Pienaar, Jano Vermaak, Piet van Zyl
Openers: Pat Lambie, Morne Steyn
Centers : Juan de Jongh, Jean de Villiers (c), JJ Engelbrecht, Jan Serfontein
Wingers / Rears: Bjorn Basson, Bryan Habana, Zane Kirchner, Willie le Roux

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *