Africa South Africa:Coach Gordon Igesund has announced a strong 24-man squad to face Swaziland

GordonIgesund580~2Bafana Bafana coach Gordon Igesund has announced a strong 24-man squad to face Swaziland in an international friendly match on 15 November at the National Stadium in the Swazi capital of Mbabane.

The match is scheduled to kick off at 20h30.

All the players selected for this encounter are local-based as this is part of the preparations for the upcoming CAF CHAN tournament that begins in January next year.

“This is the first game that we will play in preparation for the CHAN tournament and its very important for us to get the rhythm going in the team, because these are some of the players that will play in that event. It is as very formidable team and we have a pool of about 38 players who are all fighting to make the final 23 players for the tournament, so is it is very exciting and the match against Swaziland will be a good test for us,” said Igesund.

The 24-man squad


1.           Senzo Meyiwa                Orlando Pirates FC (SA)

2.            Ronwen WILLIAMS        Supersport United FC (SA)


3.            Thabo NTHETE  Bloemfontein Celtic FC (SA)

4.            Tshepo GUMEDE            Platinum Stars FC (SA)

5.            Tefo MASHAMAITE        Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)

6.            Buhle MKHWANAZI       Tuks FC (SA)

7.            Rooi MAHAMUTSA        Orlando Pirates FC (SA)

8.            Tsepo MASILELA             Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)

9.            Thabo MATLABA             Orlando Pirates FC (SA)

10.          Happy JELE         Orlando Pirates FC (SA)


11.          Andile JALI         Orlando Pirates FC (SA)

12.          Hlompho KEKANA          Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)

13.          Oupa MANYISA               Orlando Pirates FC (SA)

14.          Reneilwe LETSHOLONYANE        Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)

15.          Bongani ZUNGU              Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)

16.          Sibusiso VILAKAZI           Bidvest Wits FC (SA)

17.          Lerato CHABANGU         Moroka Swallows FC (SA)

18.          Daine KLATE      Orlando Pirates FC (SA)

19.          Thuso PHALA    Supersport United FC (SA)

20.          Siphiwe TSHABALALA    Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)


21.          Lennox BACELA               Orlando Pirates FC (SA)

22.          Kermit ERASMUS            Orlando Pirates FC (SA)

23.          Bernard PARKER              Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)

24.          Edward MANQELE         Moroka Swallows FC (SA)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *