Nigerian Players abroad Stoke City Releases Eleven Players, Retain Etebo

Oghenekaro Etebo could return to England next season with Stoke City after the club retained him ahead of the 2020-2021 Skybet Championship season.

Etebo who struggled to get first team jersey with the Potters is currently on loan at Getafe.

The midfielder name was not included in Stoke City list of players for summer departure.

However, the player could remain with Getafe should the La Liga club chooses to trigger their permanent deal clause.

Read Also:Liga : Oghenekaro Etebo ‘happy’ to have scored his first goal with Getafe

Etebo signed a five-year-deal with the EFL Championship side Stoke City for €7.2million (£6.35 million) from Feirense in 2018.

Stoke City in a statement on its official website confirmed the names of players that will depart the club this summer.

The statement read:

“Goalkeeper Adam Federici heads the list of summer departures from the bet365 Stadium after Stoke City submitted its retained list to the EFL.

“The 35-year-old shot-stopper arrived on a free transfer from AFC Bournemouth in the summer of 2018 and went on to make 14 appearances for the Club across two seasons.

“Meanwhile, experienced duo Stephen Ward and striker Mame Diouf, whose contracts were due to expire at the end of June, have both signed extensions until the end of the current season.

“Elsewhere, eight players from the U23s squad have been released, including Oliver Shenton who ends his 15-year association with the Potters having graduated from the Academy.

“Joining Shenton in leaving the Club are Jake Dunwoody, Cameron McJannet, Scott Wara, Tre Pemberton, Ash Kigbu, James Jennings and Abdul Sankoh.

“At U18s level, nine second-year scholars have been offered new contracts – Mohamed Akandji, Nathan Broome, Kieran Coates, Patrick Jarrett, Lewis Macari, Daniel Malone, Ethon O’Driscoll Varian, Adam Porter and Soiyir Sanali. 

“Meanwhile, Ibrahima Doucoure and Reece Jones have been released.

“All first-year scholars have been retained for the 2020/21 season.

“The Club would like to thank those departing for their efforts and wish them all the best for the future.”


Adam Federici


Oliver Shenton
Jake Dunwoody
Cameron McJannet
Scott Wara
Tre Pemberton
Ash Kigbu
James Jennings
Abdul Sankoh


Ibrahima Doucoure
Reece Jones

Offered Contract:
Mohamed Akandji
Nathan Broome
Kieran Coates
Patrick Jarrett
Lewis Macari
Daniel Malone
Ethon O’Driscoll Varian
Adam Porter
Sanali Soiyir


Henry Usiayo is a practicing journalists with several years of experience covering sport events. He is currently a sport content creator with

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *