Uganda has released a 31-member squad for this month’s Africa Cup of Nations qualifying matches against Malawi and Burkina Faso.

Uganda assistant coaches Abdallah Mubiru and Livingstone Mbabazi released the squad on March 5 2021.

The squad release event took place at Federation of Uganda Football Association (FUFA) Complex, Mengo.

FUFA website quotes Mubiru confirming that the team will start camp training on 18th March at the Cranes Paradise Hotel.

Uganda squad comprises under-20 captain Garvin Mugweri Kizito and midfielder Bobosi Byaruhanga.

The two players are with the Hippos in Mauritania and face Ghana in the AFCON Under-20 final.

Uche Ikpeazu Mubiru, for Wycombe Wanderers in the English Championship, is also part of the team.

Uganda are second in group B on seven points and will face leaders Burkina Faso on 24th March in Kampala then against Malawi away four days later.

 “The Uganda Cranes are still in contention for qualification to 2021 AFCON and we believe this can be achieved in the penultimate game against Burkina Faso at home. The purpose of this message to call upon fans to rally behind the team and support them from home because no fans are allowed in the stadium at the moment,” FUFA Communications Director, Ahmed Hussein is quoted saying.

Full Squad summoned


Dennis Onyango (Mamelodi Sundowns, South Africa), Jamal Salim (Al Hilal, Sudan), Charles Lukwago(KCCA FC-Uganda), Kigonya Mathias ( Azam FC- Tanzania)


Mugabi Bevis (Motherwell FC- Scotland), Kizza Mustapha (DC Montreal- USA), Ronald Mukiibi(Ostersunds FK, Sweden), Nico Wakiro Wadada (Azam, Tanzania), Timothy Denis Awany (Sport Club Ironi, Ashdod, Israel), Joseph Ochaya (TP Mazembe, Democratic Republic of Congo), Lwaliwa Halid (Vipers SC-Uganda), Elvis Bwomono (Southend United, England), Juuko Murushid (Express FC-Uganda), Kizito Mugweri Gavin (SC Villa- Uganda)


Miya Faruku (Konyaspor- Turkey), Kizito Luwagga (Hapoel Kfar Saba- Israel), Waiswa Moses (SupersportUnited-South Africa), Lwanga Taddeo (Simba SC- Tanzania), Michael Azira (New Mexico United-, USA),Khalid Aucho (Misr Lel Makasa, Egypt), Allan Kyambadde (El Gouna, Egypt), Allan Okello (Paradou,Algeria), Lumala Abdu (Pyramids FC- Egypt), Bobosi Byaruhanga (Vipers SC-Uganda), Orit Ibrahim (Vipers SC-Uganda).


Emmanuel Arnold Okwi (Ittihad Alexandria, Egypt), Fahad Bayo (Sport Club Ironi Ashdod, Israel), KadduPatrick (Youssoufia Berrechid-Tunisia), Uche Mubiru Ikpeazu (Wycombe Wanderers, England), Sentamu Yunus (Vipers SC-Uganda), Isiagi Daniel (Jomo Cosmos-South Africa).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *