AFCON AFCON 2021 : 23 teams have already secured their ticket as CAF calls off Sierra Leone – Benin tie

AFCON 2021

Following Tuesday actions, we can now identify all the 23 nations which have already booked their post for the AFCON 2021.

The twenty four teams should be known normally today.

However, Benin have been hit by a huge blow an hour before their decisive game against Sierra Leone as a local doctor told the team of Michel Dussuyer that five of his players included in the starting team tested positive to Covid-19.

Benin Football Federation contested that decision and appealed to both FIFA and CAF, before the African football governing body took the decision to postpone the game. It could be played on Wednesday, March 31.

Read : AFCON 2021 – Super Eagles end qualifiers with home win over Lesotho

Here are the 23 qualified nations :

  • Algeria
  • Burkina Faso
  • Cameroon
  • Cap Verde
  • Comoros
  • Ivory Coast
  • Egypt
  • Ethiopia
  • Gabon
  • Gambia
  • Ghana
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Guinea
  • Bissau Guinea
  • Malawi
  • Mali
  • Morocco
  • Mauritania
  • Nigeria
  • Senegal
  • Sudan
  • Tunisia
  • Zimbabwe


Aimé ATTI is a bilingual journalist who breathes football and shares his passion on Africa Top Sports

1 comment

  1. May nigeria this year

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *