Africa Soccer UGANDA : Okwi replaces Onyango as Cranes skipper

Egypt-based striker Okwi Emmanuel has stepped in the big shoes of retired goalkeeper Denis Onyango as Uganda’s Cranes’ new skipper.

Uganda Coach Abdallah Mubiru named Okwi as the captain on Wednesday when unveiling a 34-member provisional squad to face South Africa’s Bafana Bafana on June 10 in a friendly.

Okwi plays for top Egyptian side Alexandria FC and has taken over the armband from the Mamelodi Sundowns keeper.

Onyango called it time on his international career after failing to steer Uganda to the 2022 Africa Cup of Nations finals in Cameroon.

South Africa-based goalkeeper Watenga Ismael of Chippa United has been included in the squad and looks set to step in the number one jersey.

The team will enter camp on Sunday morning 30th May 2021 at 8am. They will camp at Cranes Paradise Hotel in Kisaasi. Training starts on Monday 31s May 2021 at MTN Omondi Stadium, Lugogo,” Uganda FA website reports.

South Africa’s new coach Hugo Broos released his squad last week with a number of seasoned players such as Itumeleng Khune and Kermit Erasmus dropped.

The Squad

Goalkeepers: Watenga Ismael (Chippa United), Lukwago Charles (KCCA FC), Tamale Simon (Bright Stars FC), Kigonya Mathias (Azam FC)

Defenders: Bwomono Elvis (Southend United FC), Wafula Innocent (Mbarara City FC), Willa Paul (Vipers SC), Kizza Mustafa ( Montreal Impact FC), Kayondo Aziizi (Vipers SC), Lwaliwa Halid ( Vipers SC), Juuko Murushid (Express FC), Kizito Mugweri Gavin (SC Villa), Ssemakula Kenneth ( BUL FC), Mbowa Paul Patrick (URA FC), Walusimbi Enock (Express FC), Muhamud Hassan (Police FC).

Midfielders: Lwanga Taddeo (Simba SC), Waiswa Moses Ndhondi (SuperSport United FC), Byaruhanga Bobosi (Vipers SC), Sserubiri Ivan (URA FC), Anukani Bright (KCCA FC), Kagimu Shafik Kuchi (URA FC), Mugulusi Isma (Busoga United FC), Serwaradda Stephen (KCCA FC), Lumala Abdu (Pyramids FC), Orit Ibrahim ( Vipers SC), Akandwanaho Joseph (Bright Stars FC).

Forwards: Okwwi Emmanuel (Ittihad Alexandria FC), Bassangwa Richard (Vipers SC), Kaddu Patrick (Youssoufia Berrechid), Kakooza Derrik (Police FC), Sentamu Yunus ( Vipers SC), Kambale Eric (Express FC) and Okello Allan ( AC Paradou)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *