Botswana SOUTH AFRICA : No experimenting: Mkhalele picks strong squad for Cosafa Cup

There is no experimenting for South Africa assistant coach Helman Mkhalele who has named a relatively strong 20-member squad for the forthcoming Cosafa Cup.

Mkhalele has gone for stand-out players from the DStv Premiership while excluding those from the GladAfrica Championship and Multichoice Diski Challege.

This squad selection hints that Bafana Bafana will gun for glory at the tournament to run from July 7 to 18 in the coastal city of Port Elizabeth.

The objective is to win the COSAFA Cup and that will help us with our preparations for World Cup Qualifiers,” Mkhalele told the press today

Orlando Pirates winger Vincent Pule, striker Tshegofatso Mabasa and defender Bongani Sam have made the squad.

The Cosafa party also comprises stars such as  Kaizer Chiefs first-choice goalkeeper Bruce Bvuma, team-mate Siyabonga Ngezana, Mamelodi Sundowns defender Rushine De Reuck and Maritzburg United’s Bongokuhle Hlongwane

The squad selection is a complete departure from the recent past when Bafana Bafana selectors went for predominantly either reserve team players or bench warmers from the top-flight league.

Mkhalele will be in charge of the Cosafa Cup assignment, stepping in for his boss Hugo Broos who took over the mantle from Molefi Ntseki recently.

South Africa will compete for a semi-final slot from Group A comprising all its rivals Botswana, eSwatini and Lesotho. Group winner and overall best runners up will make the last-four.

Former South Africa Under-20 coach Thabo Senong is in charge of Lesotho; hence a meeting with Bafana Bafana promises to be interesting.

South African Football Association has through its website since announced that Bafana Bafana will go into camp this week before traveling to Eastern Cape for final preparations.

Full SA squad:


Bruce Bvuma (Kaizer Chiefs FC)

Sifiso Mlungwana (Golden Arrows FC)


Rushine De Reuck (Mamelodi Sundowns FC)

Denwin Farmer (Baroka FC)

Siyabonga Ngezana (Kaizer Chiefs FC)

Njabulo Ngcobo (Moroka Swallows FC)

Keenan Phillips (Supersport United FC)

Mashweu Mphahlele (Baroka FC)

Sifiso Ngobeni (Bloemfontein Celtic FC)

Bongani Sam (Orlando Pirates FC)


Sphelele Mkhulise (Mamelodi Sundowns FC)

Ethan Brooks (TS Galaxy FC)

Siyethemba Sithebe (AmaZulu FC)

Bongokuhle Hlongwane (Maritzburg United FC)

Kgaogelo Sekgota (Moroka Swallows FC)

Tiklas Thutlwa (Black Leopards FC)

Happy Mashiane (Kaizer Chiefs FC)

Vincent Pule (Orlando Pirates FC)

Goodman Mosele (Baroka FC)


Tshegofatso Mabasa (Orlando Pirates FC)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *