South Africa We are building new Bafana Bafana squad—Hugo Broos

South Africa’s Bafana Bafana coach Hugo Broos has explained why he has excluded most experienced players in his squad selection for the forthcoming Fifa World Cup qualifying matches.

The Belgian has dropped seasoned players such as Sifiso Hlanti, Itumeleng Khune, Themba Zwane,  Kermit Erasmus, Benard Parker, Thulani Hlatswayo, Andile Jali and Bruce Globler.

The former Cameroon AFCON-winning mentor has called up England-based Percy Tau alongside youthful Luther Singh and Siyethemba Sithebe, among others.

My way of working is that we will give a chance to young players,” Broos told a news conference on Thursday.

“I said it in the beginning that we have to build a new squad. That’s why you have so many young players. My idea is to build a team with young players.”

Despite the squad being dominated by youthful players, Broos insisted that he wanted Bafana Bafana to qualify for the World Cup.

“My ambition is that we go to Qatar next year and that is the ambition and mentality I want to infuse in the players,” he said.

Bafana Bafana begin their World Cup qualifiers on 3 September 2021 against Zimbabwe at the National Sports Stadium in Harare.

South Africa then host Ghana on 6 September at FNB Stadium.


Goalkeepers: Ronwen Williams (Supersport United FC) Veli Mothwa (AmaZulu FC) Bruce Bvuma (Kaizer Chiefs FC) Sifiso Mlungwana (Golden Arrows).

Defenders: Sydney Mobbie (Mamelodi Sundowns FC) Rushine De Reuck (Mamelodi Sundowns FC) Thapelo Morena (Mamelodi Sundowns FC), Siyanda Xulu (Haopel Tel Aviv FC, Israel), Thibang Phete (Os Belenenses, Portugal) Thabani Dube (Kaizer Chiefs FC), Njabulo Ngcobo (Kaizer Chiefs FC), Mosa Lebusa (Mamelodi Sundowns FC), Sibusiso Mabiliso (Kaizer Chiefs FC) Innocent Maela (Orlando Pirates FC).

Midfielders: Kobamelo Kodisang (FC Braga B, Portugal), Sipho Mbule (Supersport United FC), Teboho Mokoena (Supersport United FC), Mothobi Mvala (Mamelodi Sundowns FC), Sphelele Mkhulise (Mamelodi Sundowns FC), Sphephelo Sithole (Os Belenenses FC, Portugal), Njabulo Blom (Kaizer Chiefs FC), Ethan Brooks (TS Galaxy), Yusuf Maart (Sekhukhune United FC, Siyethemba Sithebe (AmaZulu FC)

Forwards: Thabiso Kutumela (Mamelodi Sundowns FC), Bongokuhle Hlongwane (Maritzburg United FC), Gift Links (Aarhus GF, Denmark), Evidence Makgopa (Baroka FC), Victor Letsoala (Bloemfontein Celtic FC), Percy Tau (Brighton and Hove Albion FC), Luther Singh (FC Copenhagen, Denmark).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *