COSAFA Malawi starts camp training for Cosafa women’s tourney

Malawi women’s football team caretaker coach McNebert Kazuwa has summoned 30 players for camp training ahead of the forthcoming Cosafa Women’s Championship in South Africa.

Kazuwa has included in the squad Zambia-based Chimwemwe Madise and Patricia Nyirenda who play club football for Lusaka Dynamos.

The team will start camp training at Mpira Village in Blantyre on Wednesday September 8 2021.

Football Association of Malawi spokesperson Gomezgani Zakazaka said they have since appointed Andrew Chikhosi, a coach for Lilongwe giant club DD Sunshine, as the interim assistant coach.

The good thing is that the Regional Leagues have concluded and the players will be fully committed to the camp until they leave for South Africa.

“The two coaches were head coach and assistant respectively during the team’s last assignments and are conversant with the set up as well as the players,” Zakazaka said.

The championship will take place in the South African coastal city of Port Elizabeth from September 28 to early October

Scorchers are in Group A which comprises defending champions South Africa, Angola and Mozambique.

Malawi’s opening game for the competition will be against Banyana Banyana on September 28 before meeting neighbours Mozambique on October 1 then Angola three days later.

Full Squad:

Goalkeepers: Mercy Skilo (Ntopwa), Ruth Mhango (Moyale Sisters), Samil Amidu (DD Sunshine), Thoko Mwase (Blantyre Zero)

Defenders:  Emily Jossam (Blantyre Zero), Emily Jossam (Blantyre Zero), Benedetter Mkandawire (Blantyre Zero), Ruth Nyirongo (DD Sunshine), Tionge Phiri (DD Sunshine) Saliva January (Ntopwa), Mphatso Gondwe (DD Sunshine), Ireen Khumalo (Ascent Academy) Moreen Phiri (CY Sisters) Chimwemwe Madise (Lusaka Dynamos), Patricia Nyirenda (Lusaka Dynamos)

Midfielders: Chikondi Gondwe (CY Sisters), Madina Nguluwe (DD Sunshine) Zainabu Kapanda (Blantyre Zero), Wezzie Mvula (DD Sunshine) Vitumbiko Mkandawire (CY Sisters), Rose Kabzere (Ascent), Jesse Joseph    (Skippers), Carolyn Mathyola (DD Sunshine), Grace Yotamu (Ntopwa), Melise Licckson (Ascent Academy),

Strikers: Asimenye Simwaka (Topic), Fazira Chiyembekeza (Skippers), Mary Chavinda (Blantyre Zero), Mary Chavinda (Blantyre Zero), Sabina Thom (DD Sunshine), Vanessa Chikupira (Blantyre Zero), Kondawu Banda (Ntopwa).


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *