AFCON AFCON: CAF Director Of Refereeing Explains Criteria For Officials Selection

The Confederation of Africa Football CAF’s Director of Refereeing, Eddy Maillet said the match officials selected for the Africa Cup of Nations AFCON based on their experience, skills and current form.

CAF on Tuesday released the list of 63 match officials who will officiate at the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations slated for Cameroon.

The list consists of 24 referees, 31 assistant referees and eight video assistant referees (VARs) from 36 countries.

Read Also:Victor Osimhen Declares Himself Fit For Nigeria At 2022 AFCON

Only one of the listed officials was however from Nigeria, Samuel Pwadutakam, and he will work as an assistant referee.

Maillet while speaking said: “The match officials were selected based on their experience, skills and current form.”

He disclosed that in recent months, the officials were subjected to several aptitude tests through preparation courses and real competitive matches.

This is because only the best will officiate at this extraordinary event.”

The CAF official added that the list of officials has two referees from the CONCACAF, the football governing body of North and Central Americas and the Caribbean.

“It is part of our inter-confederation skills exchange programme,” he stated.

The woman referee quartet of Salima Mukasanga (Rwanda), Carine Atemzabong (Cameroon), Fatiha Jermoumi (Morocco) and Bouchra Karboubi (Morocco) is on the list.

They were at the 2019 Under-17 AFCON and the 2020 African Nations Championship (CHAN).

All the selected match officials will complete their final preparations in Cameroon the week before the opening game.

They will be closely monitored before and during the competition by a team of technical specialists and instructors.



Name Country
Mustapha Ghorbal Algeria
Helder Martins De Carvalho Angola
Joshua Bondo Botswana
Pacifique Ndabihawenimana Burundi
Blaise Yuven Ngwa Cameroon
Jean Jacques Ndala Ngambo DR Congo
Amin Mohamed Amin Omar Egypt
Mahmoud El Bana Zakaria Moustafa Egypt
Bamlak Tessema Ethiopia
Gassama Bakary Papa Gambia
Daniel Nii Laryea Ghana
Mario Escobar Guatemala
Peter Waweru Kamaku Kenya
Boubou Traore Mali
Dahane Beida Mauritania
Ahmad Imtehaz Heeralall Mauritius
Jiyed Redouane Morocco
Salima Mukansanga Rwanda
Maguette Ndiaye Senegal
Issa Sy Senegal
Bernard Camille Seychelles
Victor Miguel De Freitas Gomes South Africa
Sadok Selmi Tunisia
Janny Sikazwe Zambia


Name Country
Etchiali Abdelhak Algeria
Mokrane Gourari Algeria
Jerson Emiliano Dos Santos Angola
Seydou Tiama Burkina Faso
Elvis Guy Noupue Nguengoue Cameroon
Atezambong Fomo Carine Cameroon
Soulaiman Almaldine Comoros
Liban Abdourazak Ahmed Djibouti
Oliver Safari Kabene DR Congo
Mahmoud Ahmed Kamel Abouelregal Egypt
Hossam Ahmed Taha Ibrahim Egypt
Sidibe Sidiki Guinea
Gilbert Cheriyot Kenya
Souru Phatsoane Lesotho
Attia M. Essa Amsaaed Libya
Lionel Hasinjaosoa Andriananteain Madagascar
Azgaou Lahcen Morocco
Akerkad Mustapha Morocco
Jermoumi Fatiha Morocco
Zakaria Brinsi Morocco
Arsenio Maringula Mozambique
Mahamadou Yahaya Niger
Samuel Pwadutakam Nigeria
El Hadji Malick Samba Senegal
Djibril Camara Senegal
James Fredrick Emile Seychelles
Zakhele Thusi Granville Siwela South Africa
Ibrahim Abdalla Mohammed Sudan
Issa Yaya Chad
Hassani Khalil Tunisia
Dick Okello Uganda


Name Country
Lahlou Benbraham Algeria
Abid Charef Mehdi Algeria
Mahmoud Mohamed Ashour Egypt
Fernando Guerrero Mexico
Adil Zourak Morocco
Bouchra Karboubi Morocco
Samir Guezzaz Morocco
Haythem Guirat Tunisia


Henry Usiayo is a practicing journalists with several years of experience covering sport events. He is currently a sport content creator with

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *