Tennis Tennis: Djokovic Defeats Kyrgios To Claim Wimbledon Open Title

Rafael Nadal’s victory at Roland Garros cut the gap in the race for the “Big Titles,” but Novak Djokovic increased it on Sunday by defeating Nick Kyrgios to win Wimbledon.

Defeating Kyrgios 4-6, 6-3, 6-4, 7-6(3), Djokovic earned his seventh victory at The Championships and 21st major title.

The Serbian now has 64 “Big Titles,” which puts him 10 in front of Roger Federer and five ahead of Rafael Nadal.

Read Also:Wimbledon Open: Djokovic Cruise Past Compatriot, Kecmanovic

Any trophy won at a Grand Slam competition, the Nitto ATP Finals, an ATP Masters 1000 competition, or an Olympic singles gold medal is referred to as a “Big Title.”

In the competition for the most Grand Slam championships in men’s singles, the 35-year-old also inched closer to Nadal. With 21, Djokovic is now one behind Nadal. Federer has won 20 major championships.

With seven titles, the Serbian also has the second-most men’s singles titles in Wimbledon history, behind only his idol Pete Sampras and William Renshaw.

The only player with more victories at the competition is Federer, an eight-time winner at the grass-court major.

Nadal has won one “Big Title” for every 3.4 tournaments he has competed in, while Djokovic has increased his “Big Title” win percentage to one triumph for every 3.2 events played (64/202). Only Pete Sampras (4.9, 30/147) and Roger Federer (4.4, 54/240) has won a “Big Title” at a rate of greater than once per five events played.

Current and Former Champions’ Big Titles Won (Records Since 1990)

PlayerGrand SlamsNitto ATP Finals1000sTotal^ (Avg)
Novak Djokovic21/675/1438/12264/207 (3.2)
Rafael Nadal22/650/1036/12659/203 (3.4)
Roger Federer20/806/1728/13854/240 (4.4)
Pete Sampras14/525/1111/8330/147 (4.9)
Andre Agassi8/611/1317/9027/164 (6.1)
Andy Murray3/541/814/10620/171 (8.6)
Boris Becker*2/262/65/519/84 (9.3)
Thomas Muster1/290/48/539/87 (9.7)
Stefan Edberg**3/280/44/457/79 (11.3)
Gustavo Kuerten3/331/35/679/105 (11.6)
Jim Courier4/380/45/719/114 (12.6)
Marcelo Rios0/260/15/565/84 (16.8)
Marat Safin2/410/35/877/133 (19)
Michael Chang***0/500/67/867/144 (20.6)
Andy Roddick1/460/65/756/129 (22.5)

Source: ATP Tour


Henry Usiayo is a practicing journalists with several years of experience covering sport events. He is currently a sport content creator with

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *