Europa League UEFA Europa League Knockout Draws To Hold On Monday

On Monday, the play-off draw for the Europa League’s knockout phase will be held at the UEFA headquarters in Nyon, Switzerland. At 13:00 CET, the ceremony gets underway.

Eight runners-up from the Europa League group stage will be seeded, while the eight third-place teams from the Champions League group stage will not be. There are 16 teams in the draw.

A team from the same national association cannot be faced by any side.

Read Also:Europa League: Ronaldo Scores 701 Career Goal As Man United Beats Tiraspol

Ties are decided over two legs, with the second legs being played at the teams’ homes.

Recall that since the so-called away goals rule was eliminated, ties that remain tied after 180 minutes will proceed to extra time regardless of how many goals each side has scored at home and on the road.

After a further 30 minutes, if the teams are still tied, a penalty shootout will be used to decide the winner.

The first legs will take place on February 16 and the second legs will follow a week later on February 23.

The draw for the round of 16 is scheduled for February 24.

The winners of the eight matches will play alongside the eight Europa League group winners.

Losers are eliminated from the 2022–2023 European competition.

Seeded teams

Manchester United (ENG)
Midtjylland (DEN)
Monaco (FRA)
Nantes (FRA)
PSV Eindhoven (NED)
Rennes (FRA)
Roma (ITA)
Union Berlin (GER)

Unseeded teams

Ajax (NED)
Barcelona (ESP)
Juventus (ITA)
Leverkusen (GER)
Salzburg (AUT)
Sevilla (ESP)
Shakhtar Donetsk (UKR)
Sporting CP (POR)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *