Uganda SC Villa extends drought as Vipers SC crowned UPL champions

Vipers SC retained their Ugandan Premier League title following a 5-0 thrashing of Busoga United at St Mary’s Kitende on Saturday.

Heading into the final rounds of matches, Vipers, SC Villa, and KCCA FC all had a good chance to take the trophy but it was URA FC, who quashed Villa’s dreams of ending their 19-year-old wait for the title with a 1-0 victory at a packed Wankulukuku.

The defeat meant the Jogoos dropped from the first position on the 15-team table to third, where they ended on 52 points, just one behind Vipers and KCCA.

Read Also: Vipers SC ready to end UPL season on a high – Isabirye

Interestingly, Villa’s dream was ended by coach Sam Timbe, the same man, who was in charge of the last Villa side to win the league in 2004.

Against Busoga, Vipers went ahead in the 14th minute through striker Abubaker Lawal, Yunus Sentamu made it 2-0 with a superb half-volley in the 23rd minute before Lawal completed his brace nine minutes after halftime.

Martin Kizza and Bright Anukani scored two more to round off the lap of honour to the title. Meanwhile, KCCA thumped Bright Stars 5-0 to finish second behind winners Vipers.

Rogers Mato ran the show for the Kasasiro Boys by scoring four goals in the thumping of Bright Stars. He scored the opener in the 48th minute, before adding others in the 61st, 88th, and 94th minutes while Charles Lwanga scored one in between.

Dennis Mabuka

Dennis Mabuka is a seasoned Kenyan journalist with 18 years of experience covering sports events. He is currently a sport content creator with

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *