Rwanda APR crowned Rwanda champions after downing Gorilla FC

APR lifted their 21st Rwandan Premier League title after defeating Gorilla FC 2-1 in their final fixture of the season at Kigali Pelé Stadium on Sunday.

The military side this time round won the title by goal difference after finishing the league season campaign tied on 63 points with runners-up SC Kiyovu who beat Rutsiro FC 3-1 at Muhanga Stadium to send them back in the second division.

Innocent Nshuti gave APR the lead in the 37th minute after capitalizing on a defensive blunder by Gorilla players and they doubled their lead through Bosco Ruboneka in the 87th minute.

Read Also: APR will not make mistakes in title decider against Gorilla FC – Moussa

Substitute Victor Murdah reduced the deficit for Gorilla in the 89th minute but it was not enough for Moussa Gatera’s side to end the season with a positive result.

APR finished the league with 63 points same as Kiyovu but the military side had a superior goal difference while Rayon Sports finished in third position with 61 points.

APR will now represent Rwanda in the Caf Champions League for next season. Meanwhile, Rayon Sports ended the season with a 1-0 victory against Sunrise FC.

Dennis Mabuka

Dennis Mabuka is a seasoned Kenyan journalist with 18 years of experience covering sports events. He is currently a sport content creator with

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *