AFCON AFCON 2023 QUALIFIER: Ferr names Rwanda squad to face Mozambique

Rwanda head coach Carlos Alos Ferrer has summoned a provisional squad of 24 players for their 2023 Africa Cup of Nations qualifier against Mozambique scheduled for June 18 at Huye Stadium.

Sandviken midfielder Yannick Mukunzi is among the players who have been handed a recall while APR forward Innocent Nshuti earned his first call following an impressive season with the newly crowned Rwandan Premier League champions.

Other players earning first calls include Al Wahda striker Patrick Mutsinzi, defender Noe Uwimana who plays for Philadelphia Union in the United States, and Rukinzo FC midfielder Danny Ndikumana, who snubbed Burundi to switch his allegiances to Rwanda.

Read Also: Caf clears Rwanda to play Afcon matches at Huye Stadium

Amavubi will face a tall order to qualify for the tournament in Ivory Coast as they currently lie third in Group L with three points from four matches. After facing Mozambique, the East African nation will wind up their fixtures with a trip to face group leaders Senegal on September 23.

Provisional squad

Goalkeepers: Fiance Ntwali (AS Kigali), Pierre Ishimwe (APR), and Adolphe Hakizimana (Rayon Sports).

Defenders: Fitina Ombalenga (APR), Ally Serumogo (SC Kiyovu), Noel Uwimana (Philadelphia Union), Emmanuel Imanishimwe (FAR Rabat), Christian Ishimwe (AS Kigali), Jimmy Ange Mutsinzi (JERV), Abdul Rwatubyaye (Rayon Sports), Thierry Manzi (AS Kigali), Faustin Usengimana (Al Qasim SC) and Aimable Nsabimana (SC Kiyovu).

Midfielders: Djihad Bizimana (Denze), Steve Rubanguka (Zimbru Chrisnau), Hakim Sabaho (Lille), Muhadjiri Hakizimana (Police), Yannick Mukunzi (Sandviken), Jean Bosco Ruboneka (APR), Samuel Gueullette (Raal La Louvierre) and Rafael York (Geffle IF).

Forwards: Dominique Savio Nshuti (Police), Didier Mugisha (Police), Patrick Mutsinzi (Al Wahda), Abeddy Biramahire (US Songo), Innocent Nshuti (APR), Gilbert Mugisha (APR) and Danny Ndikumana (Rukinzo).

Dennis Mabuka

Dennis Mabuka is a seasoned Kenyan journalist with 18 years of experience covering sports events. He is currently a sport content creator with

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *