COSAFA Bruce Mwape names Zambia’s final Women’s Championship Squad

Zambia Women’s National Team coach Bruce Mwape has named his final 23-member squad for the 2023 COSAFA Women’s Championship that will run from 4-15 October in Gauteng.

Mwape has named an all-local squad that includes the majority of players who featured in the back-to-back friendly wins over Morocco in Casablanca and Rabat. Goalkeeper Ngambo Musole has also made her return to the Copper Queens setup while a large number of players will be making their debut at the regional tournament.

Red Arrows quartet of Mary Wilombe, Mary Mulenga, Ochumba Oseke Lubanji, and Hellen Mubanga have been excused in order for them to undergo military training while midfielder Avell Chitundu has been ruled out of the tournament due to injury. The defending champions will open the campaign with a Group B match against Mozambique at the Lucas Moripe Stadium on October 5 before meeting Angola three days later at Dobsonville Stadium. Comoros waits in the champions’’ last group match on 10 October at UJ Soweto stadium.

FINAL SQUAD; GOALKEEPERS; Eunice Sakala (Nkwazi Queens), Leticia Lungu (ZESCO Ndola Girls), Ngambo Musole (Green Buffaloes).

DEFENDERS; Esther Siamfuko, Lushomo Mweemba (both Green Buffaloes), Pauline Zulu (Elite Ladies FC), Thelma Chella (ZANACO Ladies), Judith Soko (YASA), Vast Phiri (ZESCO Ndola Girls), Jackline Nkole (INDENI Roses).

MIDFIELDERS; Evarine Susan Katongo (ZISD Women), Susan Banda (Red Arrows), Esther Banda (BUSA), Regina Chanda (ZANACO Ladies), Comfort Selemani (Elite Ladies FC), Salome Phiri (Green Buffaloes).

STRIKERS; Rita Mwila Kaoma (Police Doves Queens), Eneless Phiri, Agness Phiri Maylan Mulenga, Natasha Nanyangwe (all Green Buffaloes), Sarah Jere (ZANACO Ladies), and Fridah Kabwe (ZESCO Ndola Girls).

Dennis Mabuka

Dennis Mabuka is a seasoned Kenyan journalist with 18 years of experience covering sports events. He is currently a sport content creator with

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *