Kenya Engin Firat names Harambee Stars squad for Russia showdown

Harambee Stars’ head coach Engin Firat has unveiled the 23-man squad for their upcoming friendly against Russia on October 16.

The squad has a blend of local and internationally-based players, with Vincent Harper and Gor Mahia’s Rooney Onyango, earning their maiden call-up to the national team. Tusker’s Brian Bwire, South Africa-based Ovella Ochieng, and AFC Leopards’ Cliffton Miheso are returning to the squad.

Captain Michael Olunga, Masud Juma, Joseph Okumu, Brian Mandela, Johnstone Omurwa, Eric Ouma, Amos Nondi, Richard Odada, and Teddy Akumu, are some players forming the foreign-based contingent. To prepare for this final friendly ahead of their World Cup Qualifiers in November, the team will travel on Monday, October 9, before they camp in Turkey.

Kenya squad; Goalkeepers; Patrick Matasi, Brian Bwire, Bryne Odhiambo.

Defenders; Joseph Stanley Okumu, Brian Mandela, Johnstone Omurwa, Collins Sichenje, Erick Ouma, Rooney Onyango, Daniel Sakari, Vincent Harper, Amos Nondi.

Midfielders; Richard Odada, Anthony Akumu, Kenneth Muguna, Alpha Onyango, Ayub Timbe, Ovella Ochieng.

Forwards; Masoud Juma, Alfred Scriven, Cliffton Miheso, Moses Shummah, and Michael Olunga.

Dennis Mabuka

Dennis Mabuka is a seasoned Kenyan journalist with 18 years of experience covering sports events. He is currently a sport content creator with

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *