FIFA World Cup Zimbabwe names squad for qualifiers against Rwanda and Nigeria

Zimbabwe coach Baltemore Brito announced the 28-man provisional squad that is set to do the job against Rwanda and Nigeria for the 2026 FIFA World Cup Qualifiers.

The Warriors are scheduled to face Rwanda away on November 15 and Nigeria at home on November 19. Luton Town’s Marvellous Nakamba, Reims’ Marshall Munetsi, and Lyon’s Tino Kadewere headline the squad. There is also the inclusion of new faces such as Liverpool academy midfielder Isaac Mabaya, Wolves forward Leon Chiwome, and Brentford goalkeeper Marley Tavaziva.

The inclusion of Cardiff City’s Andy Rinomhota, Brendan Galloway, Reading’s Tivonge Rushesha, and Leicester’s Tawanda Maswanhise completes the list of Britain-based players.

Zimbabwe squad; Goalkeepers: Donovan Bernard (Chicken Inn), Washington Arubi (SuperSport United), Martin Mapisa (FC Malaga City), and Marley Tavaziva (Brentford).

Defenders: Tendayi Darikwa (Apollon Limassol), Andrew Mbeba (Highlanders), Peter Muduhwa (Highlanders), Frank Makarati (Dynamos), Teenage Hadebe (Houston Dynamo), Munashe Garan’anga (Sheriff Tiraspol), Brendan Galloway (Plymouth Argyle), Jordan Zemura (Udinese), Tivonge Rushesha (Reading).

Midfielders: Brian Banda (FC Platinum), Marshall Munetsi (Stade de Reims), Andy Rinomhota (Cardiff City, Marvelous Nakamba (Luton Town), Gerald Takwara (Ohod), Isaac Mabaya (Liverpool), Tanaka Shandirwa (Dynamos).

Forwards: Obriel Chirinda (Bulawayo Chiefs), Prince Dube (Azam), Tinotenda Kadewere (Lyon), Admiral Muskwe (Exeter City), Walter Musona (FC Platinum), Terrence Dzvukamanja (SuperSport United), Leon Chiwome (Wolverhampton Wanderers) and Tawanda Maswanhise (Leicester City).

Dennis Mabuka

Dennis Mabuka is a seasoned Kenyan journalist with 18 years of experience covering sports events. He is currently a sport content creator with

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *