Dstv Premiership Sundowns clinch seven titles in a row with victory over Kaizer Chiefs

Mamlelodi Sundowns clinched their seventh consecutive DStv Premiership title with an emphatic 5-1 victory over Kaizer Chiefs at FNB Stadium on Thursday night.

The clash saw notable returns to the Chiefs line-up with Reeve Frosler, Thatayaone Ditlhokwe, Yusuf Maart and Edson Castillo back in action, while Denis Onyango, Neo Maema, and Lucas Riberio Costa were reinstated for Masandawana.

The encounter ignited with the speed of Ashley Du Preez causing early trouble for the visitors. Despite Du Preez’s burst through the lines, Downs’ keeper Onyango remained composed, thwarting any imminent threat.

Chiefs suffered a setback around inj the 19th minute when Given Msimango’s professional foul on Riberio Costa resulted in a red card, reducing them to ten men. Masandawana surged forward, with Tashreeq Matthews denied by Bvuma before half-time, leaving the teams deadlocked at 0-0.

The second half witnessed Sundowns’ dominance as they broke the deadlock in the 52nd minute. A slick passing sequence culminated in Riberio Costa’s delivery to Matthews, who calmly tapped in to put Sundowns ahead 1-0.

Sundowns continued their onslaught, with Matias Esquivel and Matthews extending the lead to 3-0 by the 82nd minute. Chiefs managed to pull one back through Mduduzi Shabalala’s penalty in the 85th minute, but it was merely a consolation as Sundowns sealed their victory.

Riberio Costa and Thembinkosi Lorch added further goals in the 90th and 94th minutes, respectively, cementing Sundowns’ dominance and securing their unbeaten streak in the league.

  • By SABC Online.

Dennis Mabuka

Dennis Mabuka is a seasoned Kenyan journalist with 18 years of experience covering sports events. He is currently a sport content creator with en.Africatopsports.com.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *