Tanzania Gor Mahia among teams listed to fight for CECAFA Kagame Cup title

Newly crowned Football Kenya Federation (FKF) Premier League champions Gor Mahia have been listed among the teams participating in the Council of East and Central Africa (CECAFA) Kagame Cup set for Tanzania and Zanzibar from July 6th to 22.

K’Ogalo won the Kenyan league title for the second successive campaign after amassing an unassailable 67 points ahead of Tusker FC with three matches to spare.

By virtue of being the Kenyan champions, K’Ogalo automatically earned their right to challenge for the regional title which is sponsored by Rwandan President Paul Kagame.

In the meantime, three guest teams – TP Mazembe (DR Congo), Nyasa Big Bullets (Malawi), and Zambia’s Red Arrows FC – have all confirmed participation to join 13 other teams from the CECAFA Zone.

The competition was planned earlier from July 20th to August 4th in Tanzania. But because of the busy CAF calendar, it was rescheduled so that it kicks off earlier and ends a few days before the start of the 2024/25 CAF Club competitions.

The CECAFA Senior Challenge Cup 2024 which was meant to kick off the CECAFA calendar from June 29th to July 14th has been cancelled to give players more time to prepare with their teams ahead of the CECAFA Kagame Cup.

Teams for the CECAFA Kagame Cup: Vital ‘O (Burundi), APR FC (Rwanda), El Merreikh, Al Hilal, Hai El Wadi (Sudan), Young Africans SC, Simba SC, Azam FC, Coastal Union FC (Tanzania), Gor Mahia FC (Kenya), SC Villa (Uganda), JKU SC (Zanzibar), El Merreikh FC-Bentiu (South Sudan), Nyasa Big Bullets FC (Malawi), TP Mazembe (DR Congo) and Red Arrows FC (Zambia).

Dennis Mabuka

Dennis Mabuka is a seasoned Kenyan journalist with 18 years of experience covering sports events. He is currently a sport content creator with en.Africatopsports.com.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *