COSAFA All you need to know about Kenya’s Harambee Stars ahead of COSAFA

Kenya have been to the COSAFA Cup once before, making their debut in the 2013 competition that was held in Zambia.

They exited in the first round on that occasion, but showed enough quality to suggest they will be a real force to be reckoned with this time round too.

They opened with a 2-2 draw against Lesotho 11 years ago, before they beat Eswatini 2-0 in a game that was played the following day. But their hopes of a place in the knockout rounds were dashed when they fell to a 2-1 loss to Botswana.

They will face a new set of teams in this year’s finals having been drawn in Group B along with record seven-time winners Zambia, who have lifted the trophy in the last two years, Zimbabwe and the Comoros Islands.

The East African side have been to the Africa Cup of nations finals on six previous occasions, the last in 2019. They have, unfortunately, exited in the pool stages on each occasion, with two wins in 17 Cup of Nations finals matches to their name.

Those victories came in 2004 against Burkina Faso (3-1) and 2019 versus regional rivals Tanzania, when they won 3-2 as they twice came from behind.

Kenya has long produced a steady stream of fine football, with the most recent examples being Victor Wanyama, who played for Southampton and Tottenham Hotspur in England, and most recently Montreal Impact in Major League Soccer.

IsKenya have won their only regional CECAFA tournament in its current form on seven occasions, the last in 2017, and been runners-up a further seven times. They are currently competing in the 2026 FIFA World Cup qualifiers.

Kenya squad

Goalkeepers: Bryne Omondi (Bandari), Brian Bwire (Tusker), Sebastian Wekesa (Kariobangi Sharks), and Ibrahim Wanzala (Kakamega Homeboyz).

Defenders: Alphonce Omija (Dhofar, Oman), Paul Ochuoga (Gor Mahia), Boniface Onyango (Tusker), Geoffrey Onyango (Kariobangi Sharks), Hanniff Wesonga (KCB), Amos Wanjala (Nastic Sports Academy, Spain), Johnstone Omurwa (Portugal), Faiz Opande (USA), and Baron Ochieng (Sofapaka).

Midfielders: Wilson Stanley (Kariobangi Sharks), Shariff Musa (Gor Mahia), John Ochieng (Zanaco, Zambia), Anthony Akumu (Unattached), Chrispine Erambo (Tusker), Aldrine Kibet (Nastic Sports, Spain), Bajaber Mohammed (City Stars), Alpha Onyango (Gor Mahia), Austin Odhiambo (Gor Mahia), Rooney Onyango (Gor Mahia), Patrick Otieno (Posta Rangers), Hassan Beja (AFC Leopards), Emmanuel Osoro (Nzoia Sugar), William Gatimu (Bandari), Fortune Omoto (Kariobangi Sharks), and Kaycie Odhiambo (AFC Leopards).

Forwards: Benson Omalla (Gor Mahia), Josphat Lopaga (Dynamo Brest, Belarus), Samuel Kapen (Nairobi City Stars), Moses Shummah (Kakamega Homeboyz), Zech Obiero (Leyton Orient, England), George Gitau (Middlesborough, England), Jeremy Bissau (Brooke House College, England).

Dennis Mabuka

Dennis Mabuka is a seasoned Kenyan journalist with 18 years of experience covering sports events. He is currently a sport content creator with

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *