Nigeria NF Splashes N105m On Four Finalists Of President Federation Cup

The Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) awarded the four finalists of the 2024 President Federation Cup a total of N105,000,000 in cash.

Rivers Angels, the competition’s 2024 champions, received twenty-five million naira (N25 million), while Naija Ratels, the runners-up, received ten million naira (N10 million) after losing 0-1 to Rivers Angels.

El-Kanemi Warriors, the men’s Federation Cup victors, received fifty million naira, while Abia Warriors, who finished second, received twenty million naira.

Read Also:NFF Announces Ticket Price For President Federation Cup Final

Rivers Angels of Port Harcourt won their ninth title, while El-Kanemi Warriors of Maiduguri won their third, in Nigeria’s National Cup (now known as President Federation Cup) grand final on Saturday at the Mobolaji Johnson Arena in Lagos.

The women’s final, an enthralling encounter between the Angels from Garden City and Naija Ratels from the Federal Capital, and which kicked off at 1pm beside the Lagos Waterfront, was decided by a goal scored from the penalty spot by Blessing Okpe right before the half-time whistle.

Coach Whyte Ogbonda, who won his first trophy as head coach, lauded his players’ dedication, tenacity, and hard work.

“This victory is a testament to the team’s resilience and determination. We are thrilled to be champions of the President Federation Cup.”

Bankole Olowookere, the head coach of Naija Ratels, praised his young players for reaching the final.

“Although we did not get the desired result, I am proud of my players for their fighting spirit. We will learn from this experience and come back stronger.”

In the men’s final, El-Kanemi Warriors put up a fantastic performance to defeat the hard-fighting Abia Warriors 2-0 in a game that left fans on the edge of their seats for lengthy stretches.

Nasiru Salihu, the competition’s most valuable player, shone in the middle of the park and scored both goals to postpone Abia Warriors’ victory.

El-Kanemi Warriors, who won the competition in 1991 and 1992, will represent Nigeria in next season’s CAF Confederation Cup alongside Aba-based Enyimba FC.

Senator John Owan Enoh, the Acting Governor of Borno State, His Excellency Umar Usman, and Ibrahim Musa Gusau, President of the Nigeria Football Federation, were among the dignitaries who attended Nigeria’s Cup final, which returned to its birthplace along the Lagos Waterfront.

There were also delegates from the governors of Lagos and Abia states, Nigeria’s FIFA member Amau Pinnick, key officials from the Lagos State Government, NFF Executive Committee members, NFF Congress members, and NFF and Lagos State Football Association directors.



Winner: Rivers Angels (N25million)

Runner-Up: Naija Ratels (N10million)

MVP: Blessing Okpe (Rivers Angels FC)

Top Scorer: Agama Ziperefeghe (Naija Ratels FC)

Best Goalkeeper: Agatha Thompson (Rivers Angels FC)


Winner: El-Kanemi Warriors (N50million)

Runner-Up: Abia Warriors (N20million)

MVP: Nasiru Salihu (El-Kanemi Warriors FC)

Top Scorer: Emmanuel Ogbole (Kwara United FC)

Best Goalkeeper: Ali Ishaku (Abia Warriors FC

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *