Africa Soccer Red Arrows dominate 2024 MTN/FAZ awards, Banda & Kundananji honoured

Record breaking United States-based Copper Queens stars Barbra Banda and Rachael Kundananji headlined the 2024 FAZ/MTN Super League Awards Night.

Ministry of Youth, Sports and Arts Minister Elvis Nkandu thanked MTN for the long-term support to the Zambian game.During the 2024 MTN Super League gala, FAZ president Andrew Kamanga awarded Barbra and Rachael with President’s Award for having set world record transfer fees for their moves to Orlando Pride and Bay FC in the USA.

Every year, the FAZ boss awards any deserving person or institution for their contribution to the game. Red Arrows midfielder Saddam Yusuf Phiri walked away with the coveted Footballer of the Year while Andrew Phiri lifted the Fans Player of the Year accolade.

The Young Player of the Year gong went to Zesco United’s David Simukonda while Power Dynamos’ Godfrey Ngwenya got the Most Disciplined Player award.

The Golden Glove went to Charles Kalumba while Fred Michael got the Top Scorer prize. Double winning coach Chisi Mbewe scooped the Coach of the Year award while Hillary Hambaba and Diana Chikotesha were named Best Referee and Assistant of the Year.

The inaugural Best Journalist of the Year award went to Calvin Chikemge of online publication BolaNews.

In a speech read on his behalf by permanent secretary Kangwa Chileshe, Nkandu said MTN had shown other corporates about the benefits of long-term partnerships. “The MTN Awards has become part of our annual football calendar highlight. For us as government, we are always encouraged by some private sector driven partnerships,” Nkandu said.

“More than transforming lives in sports, MTN has stood strong as an example of a partnership that transcends seasons and boundaries. Over the years, we have witnessed sponsors withdrawing their support not just to football but other sectors, but the Yellow brand has kept the flame burning.”

Meanwhile Kamanga congratulated the winners and urged them to work harder next season. The FAZ chief hailed the MTN for their continued support to the game.

“We are conscious of the volatility of the economic environment we operate in and continue to court various for different opportunities in our game. In the last few months, we have seen different sponsors take some aspects of support for our game like Zambian Breweries who are sponsoring the Charity Shield, FredRobie who have taken up sponsorship of the Play Offs, Reliable Utilities as the manufacturer of the KoPa Ball which will be the official match ball for next season. We have also had a betting partner coming on board taking advantage of opportunities in our open door sponsorship policy,” he said.

And Zambian Premier League board chairperson Kephas Katongo disclosed that they will engage fans more next season.


Player of the Season – Saddam Phiri (Red Arrows).

Golden Glove: Charles Kalumba (Red Arrows).

Top Scorer; Fred Michael (Green Eagles).

Fans Player of the Season: Andrew Phiri (FC MUZA).

Young Player of the Year: David Simukonda (Zesco United).

Most Disciplined Player: Godfrey Ngwenya (Power Dynamos).

Coach of the Year: Chisi Mbewe (Red Arrows).

Best Central Referee: Hillary Hambaba

Best Assistant Referee: Diana Chikotesha.

Journalist of the Season: Calvin Kaumba Chikenge(Bola News).

President’s Award – Barbra Banda (Orlando Pride) & Racheal Kundananji (Bay FC).

Dennis Mabuka

Dennis Mabuka is a seasoned Kenyan journalist with 18 years of experience covering sports events. He is currently a sport content creator with

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *