Tanzania CECAFA Kagame Cup: APR FC coach Darko Novic name squad for tournament

APR FC head coach Darko Novic has announced his 24-man final squad that he took to Tanzania for the 2024 CECAFA Kagame Cup.

The Serbian gaffer and his side left Kigali for Tanzania on Monday, July 8, ahead of the tournament which kicks off on Tuesday, July 9 and runs through July 21. Tanzania and Zanzibar are co-hosts for the two-week regional football showpiece.

New signings including Ghana duo of Richmond Lamptey and Seidu Dauda, Froduard Mugiraneza, Olivier Dushimama, Gilbert Byiringiro and Arsene Tuyisenge, Ivan Ruhamyankiko, Alioum Souane and Mamady Sy were all included in the squad.

However, Sharaf Shaiboub was dropped amid reports linking him with a move out of the club. The Rwandan champions will face Singida on July 9 before entertaining El Merrikh on Friday, July 12.

The last Group C game will be against Villa SC on Monday, July 15. APR, who last won the competition in 2010, are using the tournament as preparatory outing for the 2024/25 CAF Champions League preliminary round.

It also serves as part of their training schedules for the domestic league which kicks off in August.

APR full squad; Dieudonne Ndayishimiye, Yunussu Nshimiyimana, Frodouard Mugiraneza, Olivier Dushimimana, Ismail Nshimirimana, Gilbert Byiringiro, Seidu Dauda Yassif, Claude Niyomugabo, Ivan Ruhamyankiko, Richmond Lamptey, Clement Niyigena, Arsene Tuyisenge, Gilbert Mugisha, Bosco Ruboneka, Alain Kwitonda, Pierre Ishimwe, Alioum Souane, Elia Kategeya, Taddeo Lwanga, Victor Mbaoma, Pavelh Ndzila, Mamadou Sy, Apam Bemol and Ramadan Niyibizi.

Dennis Mabuka

Dennis Mabuka is a seasoned Kenyan journalist with 18 years of experience covering sports events. He is currently a sport content creator with en.Africatopsports.com.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *