AFCON AFCON 2023 guide: Know the nicknames of all participating teams

The 2023 Africa Cup of Nations starts on Saturday January 13; hosts Ivory Coast versus Guinea-Bissau in Abidjan opening the tournament; the final also takes place at the Alassane Ouattara Stadium on Sunday February 11.

Here’s the list of teams taking part:

Group A: Ivory Coast, Nigeria, Equatorial Guinea, Guinea-Bissau.

Group B: Egypt, Ghana, Cape Verde, Mozambique.

Group C: Senegal, Cameroon, Guinea, The Gambia.

Group D: Algeria, Burkina Faso, Mauritania, Angola.

Group E: Tunisia, Mali, South Africa, Namibia.

Group F: Morocco, DR Congo, Zambia, Tanzania.

The top two teams in each group and the four best-ranked third-placed teams will advance to the last 16.

However, in this article, Africa Top Sports provides the nicknames of all the participating teams as below.

Algeria – Les Fennecs [The Desert Foxes]

Angola – Palancas Negras [Sable Antelopes]

Burkina Faso – Les Etalons [The Stallions]

Cape Verde – Blue Sharks

Cote d’Ivoire – The Elephants

Cameroon – The Indomitable Lions

DR Congo – The Leopards

Equatorial Guinea – The National Thunder

Egypt – The Pharaohs

Ghana – Black Stars

Guinea – National Elephants

Guinea Bissau – The African Wild Dogs

Gambia – The Scorpions

Morocco – The Atlas Lions

Mozambique – The Mambas

Mauritania – Al Murabitun [The Almoravids]

Mali – Les Aigles [The Eagles]

Nigeria – Super Eagles

Namibia – Brave Warriors

South Africa – Bafana Bafana

Senegal – Lions of Teranga

Tunisia – The Carthage Eagles

Tanzania – The Taifa Stars

Zambia – Chipolopolo [ The Copper Bullets]

Dennis Mabuka

Dennis Mabuka is a seasoned Kenyan journalist with 18 years of experience covering sports events. He is currently a sport content creator with

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *