AFCON AFCON 2023 : who are the last 10 winners of the Best Player Award ?

AFCON 2023 : who are the last 10 winners of the Best Player Award ?

2023 Africa Cup of Nations is due to be played from January 13 to February 11 in Côte d’Ivoire. Six days before the competition starts, Africa Top Sports reminisces you the last ten winners of the tournament’s best player award.

Sadio Mane is the latest AFCON MVP as he led Senegal to their first-ever triumph in the competition two years ago in Cameroon when the defeated Mohamed Salah’s Egypt in Cameroon.

Both players are in contention to win the award this year in Côte d’Ivoire but the competition is going to be stiff as many other players the likes of Victor Osimhen, Hakim Ziyech, Bertrand Traore, Percy Tau, Riyad Mahrez can also claim the highly-coveted award.

Read more : AFCON 2023 – all the squad lists of 24 qualified teams

Pending the outcome of this year’s Africa Cup of Nations, below are the last winners.

AFCON Best player of the tournament winners since 2011

2004-Jay-Jay Okocha (Nigeria)

2006-Ahmed Hassan (Egypt)

2008-Hosni Abd Rabo (Egypt)

2010-Ahmed Hassan (Egypt)

2012-Chris Katongo (Zambia)

2013-Jonathan Pitroipa (Burkina Faso)

2015-Christian Atsu (Ghana)

2017-Christian Bassogog (Cameroon)

2019-Ismael Bennacer (Algeria)

2021- Sadio Mane (Senegal)


Aimé ATTI is a bilingual journalist who breathes football and shares his passion on Africa Top Sports

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *