Other League PSV Win Eredivisie Title After Six Years Hiatus

After a six-year wait, PSV Eindhoven won their 25th Dutch league title on Sunday, defeating Sparta Rotterdam 4-2 at the joyful Philips Stadion thanks to goals from defender Olivier Boscagli at both ends.

After an impressive campaign in which they have only lost once in 32 games, PSV needed a point to ensure victory.

Despite falling down early, they managed to overcome mid-table Sparta.

Read Also:Sancho Expresses Gratitude To Dortmund After PSV Win

Before an own goal by Said Bakari and another by Johan Bakayoko turned the tide in PSV’s favour, Metinho had placed the visitors ahead.

There were nervous moments in Eindhoven when Boscagli put the ball in his own net, making the score 2-2.

Before Jordan Teze added a fourth goal, he made up for the mistake with a fantastic volley from a free-kick at the right end of the pitch.

With 28 victories in 32 games thus far, coach Peter Bosz has won his first league title in spectacular fashion.

PSV is on track to tie Ajax’s 1972 record for the most points in a Dutch top flight campaign, which stands at 93.

That total was adjusted because a win at the time was worth two points.

Despite pre-match concerns of a pitch invasion, fans stayed in the stands and there were wild scenes after the final whistle blew, waving cardboard copies of the Dutch league trophy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *