FIFA World Cup Zimbabwe coach Brito confident ahead of Rwanda, Nigeria matches

Zimbabwe head coach Baltemar Brito has implored the nation to rally behind the Warriors in the forthcoming 2026 FIFA World Cup qualifiers against Rwanda and Nigeria on November 15 and 19 respectively.

Brito believes the Warriors need the support of the nation to have a good start to the 2026 FIFA World Cup qualifiers. He said: “Let’s unite and rally behind the national team. We are here to try to do our best; Everyone is here to do their best, so we expect the nation to give the best of support. We will try to create a good moment for them (fans).”

On his team selection, Brito said: “I’m happy with the team and I’m happy with my decision to assemble this talented group of players that will represent Zimbabwe in the World Cup qualifiers,” adding: “I did analysis on each one of them, they are exceptional players and are valuable assets to the team.”

On Friday, the Warriors technical team and locally-based players, Tanaka Shandirwa, Frank Makarati, Donovan Bernard, Walter Musona, Obriel Chirinda, Peter Muduhwa, Andrew Mbeba, and Brian Banda left for Rwanda ahead of the two matches. Saudi-based Gerald Takwara was also part of the delegation. The Warriors will face Rwanda and Nigeria at Huye Stadium in Butare, Rwanda. Zimbabwe are in Group C alongside Rwanda, Nigeria, South Africa, Benin, and Lesotho.

Zimbabwe squad; Goalkeepers; Donovan Bernard (Chicken Inn), Washington Arubi (SuperSport United), Martin Mapisa (FC Malaga City) and Marley Tavaziva (Brentford City).

Defenders: Tendayi Darikwa (AppolonLimassol), Andrew Mbeba (Highlanders), Peter Muduhwa (Highlanders), Frank Makarati (Dynamos), Teenage Hadebe (Houston Dynamo), Munashe Garananga (Sheriff Tiraspol), Brendan Galloway (Plymouth Argyle), Jordan Zemura (Udinese Calcio), Tivonge Rushesha (Reading).

Midfielders: Brian Banda (FC Platinum), Marshall Munetsi (Stade Reims), Andy Rinomhota (Cardiff City), Marvellous Nakamba (Luton Town), Gerald Takwara (Ohod Club), Isaac Mabaya (Liverpool), Tanaka Shandirwa (Dynamos).

Forwards: Obriel Chirinda (Bulawayo Chiefs), Prince Dube (Azam), Tino Kadewere (Olympique Lyon), Admiral Muskwe (Exeter City), Walter Musona (FC Platinum), Terrence Dzvukamanja (SuperSport United), Leon Chiwome (Wolverhampton Wanderers) and Tawanda Maswanhise (Leicester City).

Dennis Mabuka

Dennis Mabuka is a seasoned Kenyan journalist with 18 years of experience covering sports events. He is currently a sport content creator with

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *