AFCON AFCON 2023: See Nigeria Super Eagles 25-Man Squad List

Head Coach Jose Peseiro has selected a squad of 25 players, consisting of three goalkeepers, nine defenders, five midfielders, and eight attackers, as Nigeria, the reigning champions, prepare to compete for a fourth Africa Cup of Nations.

Stanley Nwabili, a custodian based in South Africa, is selected alongside Francis Uzoho and Olorunleke Ojo. Captain Ahmed Musa is back in the squad after being dropped out of the starting lineups of the 2026 FIFA World Cup qualification campaign.

Kenneth Omeruo, a 2009 U17 World Cup star (the only other candidate on the team other than Musa, who was part of Nigeria’s 2013 squad that won in South Africa), leads the defense along with William Ekong, Bright Osayi-Samuel, Bruno Onyemaechi, Olaoluwa Aina, Oluwasemilogo Ajayi, Calvin Bassey, Zaidu Sanusi, and Chidozie Awaziem.

Read Also:AFCON 2023: Injury Force Partey, Lamptey Out Of Ghana Squad

After missing the World Cup qualifying matches against Lesotho and Zimbabwe, Wilfred Ndidi has returned to the fold and will be counted on to provide enough food for the strike force that includes Frank Onyeka, Joe Ayodele-Aribo, Alex Iwobi, and Raphael Onyedika.

With two braces in Brazil 2014 and Russia 2018, Musa holds the record for most goals scored by Nigeria in the FIFA World Cup finals. He is positioned in the forward line with other notable players such as Africa Player of the Year Victor Osimhen, Kelechi Iheanacho, Moses Simon, Samuel Chukwueze, Victor Boniface, Sadiq Umar, and Ademola Lookman.

On Tuesday, January 2, all 25 players will fly into Abu Dhabi, the capital of the United Arab Emirates, for a one-week training camp that will run until Tuesday, January 9.

They will leave their various bases on that date.

On Tuesday, January 9, the team will return to Lagos by air, and on Wednesday, January 10, they will arrive in the Ivorian capital, Abidjan.

In their pursuit of a fourth continental championship, the Super Eagles will play their opening Group A encounter on Sunday, January 14, against Equatorial Guinea.

They will then play their remaining matches against the host nation, Cote d’Ivoire, on January 18, and Guinea Bissau, on January 22.

Nigeria, who will be taking part in the Africa Cup of Nations for the twentieth time, won the competition in 1980 while serving as hosts, again in Tunisia in 1994, and again in South Africa in 2013.

A youthful Nigerian team captained by the legendary Stephen Keshi advanced to the Final in Cote d’Ivoire in 1984 when they were defeated by the seasoned Indomitable Lions of Cameroon in a thrilling match held at the Stade Felix Houphouet-Boigny in Abidjan.

Super Eagles Full Squad For AFCON 2023


Stanley Nwabili (Chippa United, South Africa); Francis Uzoho (Omonia FC, Cyprus); Olorunleke Ojo (Enyimba FC)


Olaoluwa Aina (Nottingham Forest, England); Chidozie Awaziem (Boavista FC, Portugal); Bright Osayi-Samuel (Fenerbahce FC, Turkey); William Troost-Ekong (PAOK Salonika, Greece); Bruno Onyemaechi (Boavista FC, Portugal); Kenneth Omeruo (Kasimpasa FC, Turkey); Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England); Calvin Bassey (Fulham FC, England); Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal)


Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Raphael Onyedika (Club Brugge, Belgium); Joe Ayodele-Aribo (Southampton FC, England); Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England); Alex Iwobi (Fulham FC, England)


Ahmed Musa (Sivasspor K, Turkey); Victor Osimhen (Napoli SC, Italy); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Sadiq Umar (Real Sociedad, Spain); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Ademola Lookman (Atalanta FC, Italy); Samuel Chukwueze (AC Milan, Italy); Victor Boniface (Bayer Leverkusen, Germany)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *