AFCON AFCON 2023: 10-man Angola thrash 10-man Namibia to reach quarters

Angola stormed into the quarter-finals of the 2023 Africa Cup of Nations following their 3-0 victory against Namibia at Stade de la Paix in Bouake, Ivory Coast on Saturday.

The Palancas Negras suffered the first blow in the game with only 17 minutes played when goalkeeper Nebru was sent off after he brought down Namibia’s Muzeu while trying to save a cross from outside his area. The red card forced Angola to an earlier change as Dominique was introduced in goal while Estrela was sacrificed.

The Brave Warriors then almost took the lead in the 22nd minute when Dean Hotto stepped up to take a free-kick from outside the box and he went for placement rather than power, giving Dominique plenty of time to get across and parry it away.

Read Also: AFCON 2023: Angola vs Namibia confirmed line up

Two minutes later, Angola were forced to make their second change after Tjiueza limped off and was replaced by Limbondi. Mabululu then started a move for Angola but his shot was deflected over for a fruitless corner. Despite being reduced to 10 men, Angola took the lead in the 38th minute when Fredy found Gilberto out wide, and he slid the ball back to Fredy before it was squared to Dala, who applied a fantastic finish.

Two minutes later, the Brave Warriors were down to 10 men as well, Mabululu breaking away to meet a ball over the top but he was tripped by Haukongo for a second yellow card. Dala then scored his second in the 41st minute, rising above Namibia defenders to power home past Kazapua.

In the 65th minute, Angola grabbed their third, Fredy pouncing onto a loose pass on the edge of his box and started a counter-attack. The ball was then played through to Mabululu, who cut onto his right foot before curling a wonderful effort into the far corner to seal the emphatic victory and send Namibia out.

Angola starting XI: Neblu, Afonso, Gaspar, Buatu, To Carneiro, Estrela, Show, Fredy, Gilberto, Mabululu, Dala.

Subs: Antonio, Bela, Inacio, Kadu, Keliano, Luvumbo, Milson, Paz, Quinito, Zini.

Namibia starting XI: Kazapua, Kamberipa, Amutenya, Haukongo, Hanamub, Muzeu, Katua, Petrus, Hotto, Tjiueza, Shalulile.

Subs: Gebhardt, Hambira, Haoseb, Kamatuka, Kambato, Limbondi, Maova, Ndisiro, Nyambe, Papama, Rudath, Shitembi.

Dennis Mabuka

Dennis Mabuka is a seasoned Kenyan journalist with 18 years of experience covering sports events. He is currently a sport content creator with

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *