AFCON AFCON 2023: Ivory Coast Send Senegal Out In Dramatic Penalty Shootout

The 2023 Africa Cup of Nations Round of 16 saw hosts Ivory Coast defeat Senegal 5-4 on penalties following a 1-1 stalemate after extra time at the Charles Konan Banny Stadium in Yamoussoukro on Monday night.

Consequently, the Elephants advanced to the quarterfinals of the largest football competition in Africa.

In the last eight, which takes place on February 3 at Bouaké’s Stade de la Paix, the hosts will face either Mali or Burkina Faso.

Read Also:AFCON 2023: Senegal Vs Ivory Coast Confirmed Starting XI

Senegal, on the other hand, had an unexpected departure from the competition and will now return home as their prospects of successfully defending the Afcon title faded.

The Teranga Lions took the lead in just four minutes thanks to some outstanding work by Sadio Mane who provided Habib Diallo the assist to score.

In response, the Teranga Lions came under pressure from the Elephants, who were led forward by Seko Fofana.

Senegal led 1-0 at the break after the Al Nassr midfielder tested goalie Edouard Mendy, who made a fantastic save to deny Fofana in the 40th minute.

Following the restart, Ivory Coast had the better opportunities, and in the 73rd minute, Mendy had to make a fantastic stop to keep out Franck Kessie.

When Nicolas Pepe was let through on goal in the 77th minute and Mendy denied him, Senegal was under increasing pressure.

Elephants kept trying to equalise, and when Mendy fouled Pepe in the box, they were given a penalty kick.

The game finished in a stalemate in ordinary time, and extra time was played after Kessie stepped up and beat Mendy from the spot kick to make it 1-1.

Extra time saw both teams attack one another, but no goals were scored, so a penalty shootout was used to decide the winner.

Kessie scored the game-winning penalty, making Moussa Niakhate the only player to miss in the penalty shootout as Ivory Coast defeated them 5–4 on penalties.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *