All African Games All African Games: Nigeria Wresting Contingent To Arrive Ghana On Wednesday

The Nigerian wrestling departed their Yenagoa camp and are expected to arrive Accra, Ghana on Wednesday for the 2023 African Games.

The 20-person delegation, headed by Dr. Daniel Igali, President of the Nigeria Wrestling Federation, departed Yenagoa for Port-Harcourt Airport in Rosen Abuja.

The President of the Nigeria Wrestling Federation, Dr. Daniel Igali, discussed the hopes of the Wrestling Federation ahead of the Games and stated that good performances from the athletes are expected.

Read Also:All African Games: Danjuma Releases Final Squad List

“This is African Games and as you know our athletes have been in training camp here in Yenagoa and I think the expectation we have from the athletes is for everyone to give their best efforts.”

“We believe that the work we’ve done in the past few weeks with 100% performance would bring good fruits to Nigeria.”

Olympic silver medallist Blessing Oborodudu, the captain of the Nigeria wrestling squad, expressed her goal to perform in a way that would make Nigeria proud.

“Going for the African Games my expectation is to perform my 100% best and by the special grace of God I will defend my title which is the gold medal.”

The 13th African Games begin March 8 and the wrestling event is scheduled for 9,10 and 11th March 2024 in Accra, Ghana.

Here is the full list of the Nigeria Wrestling Federation delegation to the African Games (Ghana) 2024

Women Wrestling:

  1. Genesis Miesinnei Mercy (50kg)
  2. Ogunsanya Christinah Tolulope (53kg)
  3. Adekuoroye Odunayo Folasade (57kg)
  4. Kolawole Esther Omolayo (62kg)
  5. Oborududu Blessing (68kg)
  6. Rueben Hannah Amuchechi (76kg)

Men Freestyle:

  1. Enozunomi Simon (57kg)
  2. Izolo Stephen Simon (65kg)
  3. Braverman Oyeinkeperemo (74kg)
  4. Onovwiomogbohwo Harrison (86kg)
  5. Mutuwa Ashton Adeyemi-amin (125kg)


  1. Nworie Emmanuel Chinonso (77kg)
  2. Ulabo Solomon (87kg)
  3. Okuro Augustine (130kg)


  1. Akuh Purity
  2. Burutu Happiness
  3. Victor Kodei
  4. Godswill Teibril

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *