Friendly Broos looking for Bafana Bafana future ahead of FIFA Series in Algeria

South Africa coach Hugo Broos has explained his decision to call some new players in his final 23-member squad for the FIFA Series international friendlies pilot project in Algeria later this month.

The FIFA event will run from 18 to 26 March 2024 and Broos said it is a great opportunity to call some new players to the South African senior men’s team.

“Certainly, I am also looking to the future. I said it already, there are a few players in our group who will be 35, 34, 36 when the FIFA World Cup is jointly hosted in Canada, Mexico and the United States of America in 2026,” he said.

“So yes, we have to look for replacements also. Firstly, we have to see those games as an opportunity to give new players, younger players, to show if they are at Bafana Bafana level. Secondly, we are playing against two different styles of opponents. On one side you have Andorra and you can compare them to Namibia. So, a tough team, a team who will wait and try to be dangerous in transition.”

Broos added: “On the other side you have Algeria, ranked fifth in the CAF rankings. So that means you have two different styles, and it is good for the South African senior men’s team, certainly also to play against Andorra, but certainly to play against such a good team like Algeria.

“They have a new coach, they will have new players also in their selection. So, it will be a good test for those new players who are with us to prove themselves. Therefore, those friendly games are important, and you have to get the results if you want to keep your 10th place or maybe progress even further in the CAF ranking.”

Bafana will play their first match against Andorra at the 19 May 1956 Stadium in Annaba, Algeria, on Thursday, March 21. They then face the hosts at the Nelson Mandela Stadium in Algiers on Tuesday, March 26 before returning home on the following day.

Final Bafana 23-man squad: Goalkeepers: Ronwen Williams (Mamelodi Sundowns), Bruce Bvuma (Kaizer Chiefs), Ricardo Goss (SuperSport United).

Defenders: Thapelo Morena, Aubrey Modiba, Grant Kekana (all Sundowns), Sydney Mobbie (Sekhukhune United), Nkosinathi Sibisi, Tapelo Xoki (both Orlando Pirates), Siyabonga Ngezana (FCSB, Romania).

Midfielders: Teboho Mokoena (Sundowns), Goodman Mosele (Chippa United), Sphephelo Sithole (CD Tondela, Portugal), Grant Margeman (SuperSport).

Forwards: Themba Zwane (Sundowns), Patrick Maswanganyi (Pirates), Khanyiso Mayo (Cape Town City), Oswin Appollis (Polokwane City), Mihlali Mayambela (Aris Limassol, Cyprus), Mlondi Mbanjwa (AmaZulu), Iqraam Rayners (Stellenbosch), Elias Mokwana (Sekhukhune United).

Dennis Mabuka

Dennis Mabuka is a seasoned Kenyan journalist with 18 years of experience covering sports events. He is currently a sport content creator with

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *