Friendly Mabedi names final Malawi squad to face Kenya in Lilongwe

Malawi Flames’ coach, Patrick Mabedi has named his final 32-member squad ahead of the 4-Nations tournament involving Kenya, Zambia, and Zimbabwe at the Bingu National Stadium in Lilongwe.

Mabedi has named two England-based players Jubril Okedina, who plays for third-tier League One outfit Cambridge United, and Takondwa Maosa of regional league side Brentwood Town FC. He has also called striker Henri Kumwenda of Butler University in the US.

Apart from the trio, Mabedi has named eight other foreign-based players, namely goalkeeper Brightone Munthali (Black Leopards, South Africa), defender Dennis Chembezi (Al-Qassim, Iraq), midfielders John ‘CJ’ Banda UD Songo, Mozambique), Robert Saizi (Zanaco, Zambia) and Lloyd Njaliwa (Costa do Sol, Mozambique); forwards Frank Gabadinho Mhango (Moroka Swallows, South Africa), Chawanangwa Kaonga (Zanaco, Zambia) and Chifundo Mphasi (Kabwe Warriors, Zambia).

Read Also: Firat names Harambee Stars squad for Four-Nations tournament

In total, he has included 11 foreign-based players. The squad also includes seven uncapped players, namely Okedina, Maosa, George Chikooka, Alex Kambirinya, Chrispin Mapemba, Wongani Lungu, and Ephraim Kondowe.

The Flames will open their campaign for the title against Kenya on Saturday, March 23 while Zambia will be up against Zimbabwe with the winners of the two matches to then play in the final while the losers will be involved in a third-place play-off on Tuesday, March 26 at the same venue. Malawi squad;

Goalkeepers: Brighton Munthali (Black Leopards), Innocent Nyasulu (Nyasa Big Bullets), and George Chokooka (Silver Strikers).

Defenders: Jubril Okedina (Cambridge United); Chembezi Denis (Al-Qasim Sports Club) alongside Mark Lameck, Nickson Mwase (both Silver strikers), Daniel Chimbalanga (MAFCO), Stanley Sanudi, Lawrence Chaziya (both Mighty Wanderers), Yamikani Mologeni, Blessings Mpokera (both Nyasa Big Bullets), Alex Kambilinya (Mighty Wakawaka Tigers) and Joseph Balakasi (Dedza Dynamos).

Midfielders: John Banda (UD Songo), Robert Saizi (ZANACO), Takondwa Maosa (Brentwood Town FC), Lloyd Njaliwa (Costa do sol) alongside Chrispin Mapemba, Lloyd Aaron, Patrick Mwaungulu, Lanjesi Nkhoma, Chikumbutso Salima (all Nyasa Big Bullets), Wisdom Mpinganjira (Mighty Wanderers), Chimwemwe Idana, Patrick Macheso (both Silver Strikers) and Wongani Lungu (Ekwendeni Hammers).

Strikers: Gabadinho Mhango (Moroka Swallows), Chawanangwa Kaonga (ZANACO), Chifundo Mphasi (Kabwe Warriors), Henri Kumwenda (Butler Men’s soccer) alongside Ephraim Kondowe (Nyasa Big Bullets).

Dennis Mabuka

Dennis Mabuka is a seasoned Kenyan journalist with 18 years of experience covering sports events. He is currently a sport content creator with

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *