FIFA World Cup FIFAWCQ: Equatorial Guinea keeps perfect start with Liberia win

Equatorial Guinea made it two wins out of two after defeating Liberia 1-0 in their 2026 FIFA World Cup qualifying fixture at the Samuel Kanyon Doe Sports Complex Stadium on Monday.

The Nzalang Nacional had kicked off their Group H campaign with a 1-0 victory against Namibia and they needed a ninth-minute goal courtesy of Emilio Nsue to defeat the Lone Stars, who had lost their opener 1-0 against the Flames of Malawi.

However, it was the Lone Stars, who forced the first corner of the game in the fifth minute after Nzalang Nacional’s defender Saul Coco’s clearance but it did not produce any goal. Four minutes later, Nzalang Nacional took the lead when Nsue’s right-footed effort from outside the box found the back of the net off an assist from Jose Machin.

Read Also: FIFAWCQ: Liberia vs Equatorial Guinea confirmed starting line up

Liberia responded almost immediately and should have levelled the scores when William Jebor’s shot was deflected over the goal. In the 20th minute, Equatorial were handed a free-kick after a foul by Mark Pabal on Josete Miranda but the resultant kick by Miranda went inches wide.

In the 27th minute, Nohan Kenneh of Liberia became the first player to be booked after a clumsy tackle on Miranda, and five minutes later Miranda found himself in the wrong book of the referee as he was yellow carded for a foul on Mark Pabal. With the Lone Stars’ pushing to get an equaliser, they suffered a huge blow at the stroke of halftime when Kenneh was sent off for a second bookable offence.

At the start of the second period, both teams made changes, Liberia bringing in Daniel Toe for Albert Korvah while Equatorial rested Miranda for Fede Nguema and Carlos Akapo for Nestor Senra. The changes added some power to Equatorial’s attacking line and they almost doubled their lead in the 51st minute when Nguema’s glancing header went inches with goalkeeper Ashley Williams not moving even an inch.

Liberia starting XI: Ledlum, Dorley, Jebor, Johnson, Dweh, Kenneh, Korvah, Macauley, Pabai, Sangare, Williams.

Subs: Wynney, Toe, Tisdell, Teah, Soumaoro, Sherman, Moses, Kamara, Deanneh, Arago.

Coach: Ansumana Keita.

Equatorial Guinea starting XI: Akapo, Bikoro, Coco, Ganet, Machin, Miranda, Ndong, Nsue, Orozco, Owono, and Salvador.

Subs: Senra, Sapunga, Ondo, Nguema, Nlavo, Ondo, Hanza, Eneme, Elo, Buyla, Balboa, Anieboh.

Coach: Juan Micha.

Dennis Mabuka

Dennis Mabuka is a seasoned Kenyan journalist with 18 years of experience covering sports events. He is currently a sport content creator with

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *