AFCON AFCON 2023: Guinea-Bissau Releases Final 25-Man Squad List

Captain Jonas Mendes of Guinea-Bissau has been selected for the 25-man team for the tournament in Ivory Coast next month, meaning he will play in his fourth consecutive African Cup of Nations finals, authorities said on Sunday.

Despite playing in a World Cup qualifier last month, top Ligue 2 striker Alexandre Mendy has declined a call-up. Mendy is the top scorer in the French second division with 12 goals for Caen.

Since making their debut in 2017, Mendes, 34, has maintained a goal in all but two of the nine games the tiny West African nation has played in the finals.

Read Also:Board postpones seven Premier League matches ahead of AFCON 2023

The sole notable absence from coach Balde Cande’s squad, who is taking the helm for the fourth time in a row, is Mendy.

Defensor Edgar Ie, who only had one appearance for Portugal in 2017, is also included. Since it was a friendly international, he was free to return to his native nation. In June, the 29-year-old made his debut for Guinea-Bissau.

Ze Turbo, a striker with a base in Russia, is back after missing out on the World Cup qualifying matches last month.

The team will assemble in Bissau on January 2 to begin pre-tournament preparations, and on January 6, they will play a friendly match in Bamako against Mali.

In the tournament’s opening encounter on January 13, Guinea-Bissau plays the hosts, Ivory Coast. In Group A, Guinea-Bissau also plays Equatorial Guinea and Nigeria.



Ouparine Djoco (Royal Francs Borains), Fernando Embadje (Alcanenense), Jonas Mendes (Kalamata, Greece)


Fali Cande (Metz), Marcelo Djalo (Palencia), Jefferson Encada (Pharco), Edgar Ié (Basaksehir), Houboulang Mendes (Almeria), Nanu (Samsunspor), Nito (Maritimo), Opa Sangante (Dunkerque)


Janio Bikel (Gaziantep), Morreto Cassama (Omonia Nicosia), Dalcio (Apoel Nicosia), Carlos Mane (Kayserispor), Sori Mane (Academico Viseu), Carlos Mendes (Bolton Wanderers), Mauro Rodrigues (Yverdon Sport), Alfa Semedo (Al Tai)


Mama Balde (Olympique Lyonnais), Franculino (Midtjylland), Zinho Gano (Zulte Waregem), Famana Quizera (Academico Viseu), Marciano Sanca (Almeria), Zé Turbo (FC Pari Nizhniy Novgorod).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *