2022 AFCON Playoffs Benin Provisional Squad Against Nigeria, PSG Star And Ex-Aston Villa Striker Listed

Benin will take on Nigeria an Sierra Leone for their upcoming 2022 Africa Cup of Nations qualifying matches. For the events, the Benin Football Federation have announced a 23-man provisional squad list.

An analysis of the roster revealed that three goalkeepers, eight defenders, seven midfielders and five strikers are in contention to feature against the Super Eagles on Saturday, 27th March.

There is a first time call-up for Paris Saint-Germain right-back Colin Dagba. But it is unclear whether he will accept the invitation.

At 22 and born in Béthune, France, Dagba is a current France U21 international, earning his last cap for the age group in a 3-1 win over Switzerland in an U21 EURO qualifier in November 2020.

Former Aston Villa and Blackburn Rovers goal poacher Rudy Gestede, Enyimba defender Nabyl Yarou and Alavés loanee Olivier Verdon are among the eye-catching names on the list.

PSG star, ex-Aston Villa striker, 21 others named in Benin provisional squad to face Nigeria AFCONQ

Three-time African champions Nigeria will take on neighbors Republic of Benin at the Stade Charles de Gaulle in Porto-Novo. Game to start from 17:00 on Saturday, 27th March.

Full Benin Squad list as following.

Goalkeepers (3) : Saturnin Allagbé (Dijon, France), Hariston Hessou (Bahir Dar, Ethopia), Marcel Dandjinou (JDR Stars FC, South Africa)

Defenders (8) : Khaled Adénon (US Avranches, France), Youssouf Assogba (Amiens SC, France), Cédric Hountondji (Clermont Foot, France), David Kiki (PFC Montana, Bulgaria), Olivier Verdon (Ludogorets Razgrad, Bulgaria), Emmanuel Imorou (évian, France), Nabyl Yarou (Enyimba, Nigeria), Collins Dagba (PSG, France)

Midfielders (7) : Sessi d ‘Almeida (Valenciennes FC, France), Jérôme Bonou (Djoliba, Mali), Jordan Adéoti (Annecy FC, France), Rodrigue Cossi (Club Africain, Tunisia), Anaane Tidjani (Menemen Spor, Turkey), Cébio Soukou (Arminia Bielefeld, Germany), Jodel Dossou (Clermont Foot, France)

Forwards (5) : Mickael Pote (Bandirmaspor, Turkey), Marcellin Koukpo (CR Belouizdad, Algeria), Jacques Bessan (Olympique Beja, Tunisia), Rudy Gestede (Melbourne, Australia), Steve Mounié ( Stade Brest 29, France)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *