Foot Africa Super Eagles Coach Names 31-Man Squad For Friendly Against Cameroon

The Super Eagles will take on their arch-rivals indomitable Lions in friendly in Austria next month after the FIFA World Cup qualifiers scheduled to start next month was postponed to September.

And ahead of the highly-anticipated encounter, Super Eagles manager Gernot Rohr has called up a total of 31 players.

Simy Nwankwo and Terem Moffi appear in the team for Nigeria’s international friendly game against Cameroon on June 4.

The German tactician has invited Simy three years after he last played for the team. The 29-year-old is Nigeria’s top scorer in Europe’s top five leagues with 19 league goals in the Italian Serie A.

Rohr had previously cast doubts on Simy’s chances in the team. But the friendly against the Indomitable Lions is a perfect opportunity for the 29-year-old to stake a claim in the team.

Meanwhile, Moffi is also in line to make his debut finally after he was named in the squad. The 21-year-old was named in the squad for the games against Benin and Lesotho, but only as a standby.

Moffi is also one of the many Nigerian strikers flying the country’s flag high in Europe. The former Kortrijk star has scored 14 league goals for Lorient this season- the most a Nigerian has scored in the Ligue 1 since Victor Ikpeba scored 16 for Monaco.

Other players in Rohr’s list include the regulars like Ahmed Musa, Joe Aribo, Victor Osimhen, Samuel Chukwueze and Moses Simon.

There’s also a recall for Ikechukwu Ezenwa, Peter Olayinka and Kevin Akpoguma. Also, there’s a first-time invitation for Abraham Marcus.



Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (APOEL Nicosia, Cyprus); John Noble (Enyimba FC); Maduka Okoye (Sparta Rotterdam, The Netherlands); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Heartland FC)

Defenders: Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Kevin Akpoguma (Hoffenheim, Germany); Chidozie Awaziem (FC Boavista, Portugal); William Ekong (Watford FC, England); Olaoluwa Aina (Fulham FC, England); Jamilu Collins (SC Paderborn 07, Germany); Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal); Tyronne Ebuehi (FC Twente, The Netherlands); Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England)

Midfielders: Oghenekaro Etebo (Galatasaray FC, Turkey); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Abdullahi Shehu (Omonia Nicosia, Cyprus); Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Abraham Marcus (CD Feirense, Portugal)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Kano Pillars FC); Alex Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Sadiq Umar (Almeria FC, Spain); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain); Victor Osimhen (Napoli FC, Italy); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Henry Onyekuru (Galatasaray FC, Turkey); Anayo Iwuala (Enyimba FC); Peter Olayinka (Slavia Praha, Czech Republic); Terem Moffi (FC Lorient, France); Paul Onuachu (KRC Genk, Belgium); Simy Nwankwo (Crotone FC, Italy)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *