AFCON AFCON 2023: Nigeria vs South Africa confirmed line up

Nigeria will face South Africa in the 2023 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) semi-final encounter at the Stade Bouaké in Cote d’Ivoire on Wednesday.

Bafana Bafana will face old-time foes, the Super Eagles, in what will be a repeat of the 2000 semifinal that saw the West Africans overcome the 1996 champions 2-0 in Lagos.

Following the 2000 semifinal defeat, the Super Eagles edged Bafana Bafana in the quarterfinals in the 2019 edition in Egypt with a narrow 2-1 win. The winner of this semi-final will face the winner of Ivory Coast vs the Democratic Republic of the Congo fixture.

Head-to-Head facts;

● Nigeria and South Africa last met in the semi-finals at the AFCON in 2000, with the Super Eagles running out 2-0 winners thanks to a brace from Tijani Babangida.

● Nigeria are playing in a record 15th semi-final at the AFCON, while they’ve only progressed from one of their last six at this stage of the competition, going on to win the competition in South Africa in 2013.

● Nigeria have won their last four AFCON games without conceding; they could keep five consecutive clean sheets in the competition for the first time since March 1982 (W4 D1), while they’ve never done so when winning all five games.

● This will be the fourth encounter between Nigeria and South Africa at the.AFCON, with the Super Eagles winning the previous three by an aggregate score of 8-1.

Nigeria XI: Nwabali, Aina, Ekong, Ajayi, Bassey, Osayi-Samuel, Onyeka, Iwobi, Lookman, Simon, Osimhen.

Subs: Uzoho, Alhassan, Musa, Aribo, Chukwueze, Iheanacho, Onuachu, Awziem, Omeruo, Moffi, Onyedika.

South Africa XI: Williams, Kekana, Xulu, Mvala, Modiba, Mokoena, Sithole, Zwane, Mudau, Makgopa, Tau.

Subs: Mobbie, Mashego, Appollis, Adams, Monare, Mothwa, Lepasa, Sibisi, Mayambela, Goss, Morena.

Dennis Mabuka

Dennis Mabuka is a seasoned Kenyan journalist with 18 years of experience covering sports events. He is currently a sport content creator with

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *