Africa Marc Vivien Foe Prize: Pierre Emerick Aubameyang succeeds Belhanda

That’s it! The best African player in Ligue 1 and successor of Belhanda is known: it is the Gabonese Pierre Emerick Aubameyang.

The Saint-Etienne striker who has been elected is the author of a great performance this season. The former Milan, second behind Younes Belhanda in the previous edition scored 19 goals this season. He beat Cameroonian of Marseille, Nicolas Nkoulou and the Burkinabe of Rennes Jonathan Pitroipa.

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang is also nominated for the title of best player in the UNFP. This is the result of a successful season for the Panther. Only downside, he missed the 2013 Afcon, because of not having not qualified his country.

Here are the 11 nominees at the start

Aymen Abdennour (Tunisia, Toulouse FC)

Kossi Agassa (Togo, Stade de Reims)

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon, Saint-Etienne)

André Ayew (Ghana, Marseille)

Fouad Kadir (Algeria, Valenciennes and Marseille)

Wahbi Khazri (Tunisia, Bastia)

Saber Khelifa (Tunisia, Evian Thonon Gaillard)

Nicolas Nkoulou (Cameroon, Marseille)

Jonathan Pitroipa (Burkina Faso, Stade Rennais)

Alaixys Romao (Togo, FC Lorient Olympique de Marseille)

Alain Traoré (Burkina Faso, FC Lorient)

The winners of previous editions:

2009: Marouane Chamakh (Morocco)

2010: Gervinho (Ivory Coast)

2011: Gervinho (Ivory Coast)

2012: Younes Belhanda (Morocco)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *